7/20/10

Hey Everybody!

Last week I made a cake that was based on a design from Martha Stuart.  It was a dark chocolate cake with decadent whipped chocolate ganache covered in bright yellow fondant and dainty daisies.  I have attached a picture of it.  Also, I attended a class by James Roselle from Elle Cakes in L.A. on sugar flowers!  It was awesome.  We learned how to make an iris from France, cherry blossoms from Japan, a lily from Italy, a cattleya orchid from Brazil, and a tulip from Holland.  He is very good at teaching and is an amazing artist.  His edible flowers looked so real and came alive with airbrushing techniques.  I can’t wait to create  the flowers he made when I get back from NY.   I have attached a picture with James.  I’m all packed and ready to go!!!  Talk to you soon!

Sidney

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 19:57:59

    As always, JOB WELL DONE! Have a great trip in NYC

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 22:21:49

    Have a WONDERFUL NYC trip and I can’t wait to see you when you return.

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 01:03:28

    Sidney, I was fortunate enough to see the daisy cake in person, and it was absolutely gorgeous!! And I was lucky enough to taste the daisy cake, and it was as delicious as it was gorgeous. I will keep the photo of you and the cake forever 🙂 I am very impressed with you and your talents.

    Reply

  4. Rosann
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 21:45:03

    Hi SIdney…as you know, mom kept me posted on all the NYC adventures. I am so excited to hear more and start to learn some of the great techniques that you have acquired from Norm, Zane, James and Laurie D!!! Look at us…all these TV Food Network “stars” and we are calling them by their first names!!! LOL
    So glad you have had these great opportunities….YOU ARE already a talented cake and sugar artist and can only get better and better!
    Looking forward to seeing you on Friday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

