9/18/10

Yesterday, I was lucky enough to visit and work with Executive Pastry Chef, David Ramirez, at Rosen Shingle Creek Resort in Orlando, Fl.  http://www.rosenshinglecreek.com/davidramirez.asp His sugar structures are placed all over the resort.  They are made mostly of Chocolate with intricate designs and are 3 to 4 feet tall.  He and his staff worked very hard to make me feel comfortable.  Most of the day I worked in the Chocolate Room off the huge Pastry Kitchen which was off the kitchen after kitchen.  It was a small city back there.  The chocolate room smells like heaven.  It’s lined with more than 20 bakery shelves of chocolate transfers that Chef David designed himself.  Lining one wall is the granite counter to temper all the chocolate and build sculptures.  The kitchen was preparing for a wedding that evening.  While I worked on chocolate they baked and decorated a beautiful wedding cake.  I was able to visit the beautifully set ballroom they were delivering the cake to.  It was so large it couldn’t fit through the regular door and they wheeled it around the resort to the outside and in the back door on the pool deck.  Chef David and I played in chocolate all day.  We sculpted flowers, leaves, spheres, bases, and fans.  We tempered, molded, and decorated handmade chocolates.  We airbrushed the chocolate sculpture with cocoa butter in layer after layer of the most amazing colors.  The final product was very pretty.  Now I have a few more creations in mind while I’m very inspired.

We are in the final countdown to the Florida International Cake Exploration’s Day of Sharing held next Sunday in Daytona.  http://www.flices.org/ I’ll be giving a demo on a sugar undersea sculpture and making your own molds.  There will be other incredible cake artists giving demos on cake structure, photo frost, and gumpaste flowers.  In the mean time, I will be busy building the 4 tier pillow cake I’m bringing for the gallery at the Day of Sharing and making a cake based on the book The Lightning Thief.

I’ll write soon,

Sidney 🙂

http://simicakes.com/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dana
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 02:13:00

    Sidney, just when I think you have out done yourself, you out do yourself all over again. Keep raising the bar! Oh, and send me some chocolate. Ha

    Reply

  2. mike
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 02:49:48

    I am always impressed, but never surprised

    Reply

  3. Dianne R
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 15:02:09

    Sidney,
    For you, my precious Princess, I predict
    A most passionate, truly enjoyable life.
    You have a gift and how lucky for you that you discovered it at such a young age.
    One day I will say I KNOW THAT FABULOUSLY
    TALENTED LADY.
    Happy to know you now.
    Dianne R.

    Reply

  4. Merrie Lee
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 15:02:48

    I see you have an “S” in the arrangement! Great job on this. I am really looking forward to your demo next Sunday.
    Keep up the good work.
    Merrie Lee

    Reply

  5. Irene
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 18:35:06

    Sidney….The artistry you show in your work is amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

