1/5/12

Hi Everyone!

Happy New year! My new years resolution this year was to blog more.  I decided that with all the traveling I do I would interview some of the fantastic and talented people I have met,  as well as share my experiences on the road and in the bakery with you!

Below is an interview I did with Christine “Tiney” Campanelli from Tiney’s Bakeshop! I met Christine in July of 2010, when I interned at Cake Alchemy in NYC.  She is a great teacher and showed me tons of tips and tricks in cake decorating and sugar art! Christine has worked in high-end cake shops such as Carlo’s Bakery and Cake Alchemy, and now owns one of her own.  She has started producing instructional videos along with making incredible cakes and cupcakes.  Enjoy! J

 

Sidney- What’s your favorite flavor?

Christine-To make or to eat? lol I enjoy making new flavors. Also, baking coconut and lemon cakes are fun because the batter smells so good. 🙂 My favorite thing to make, though, is actually Italian Buttercream. I love the way it comes together at the end– it’s like magic every time when it whips together.

 

 

Sidney- What brought you to the idea to make your own tv show?

Christine-The show idea was something I’ve had in the back of my mind for a while now. A good friend of mine, who was –and sometimes still is– a cameraman for Cake Boss, and I tossed around the idea over dinner one night, and things sort-of took shape.

 

 

Sidney What are the hardest parts and the easiest parts about making your videos?

Christine- The hardest part was getting all the logistics together (time, place, equipment, man power) and coming up with a script that we thought people would enjoy. The easiest part was being myself and teaching– something I love to do!

 

 

Sidney- What do you have in mind for upcoming tutorials?

Christine- I’d love to do more– one on making a small wedding/engagement cake.. a baby shower cake… holiday cakes… etc. I feel like people are really into cake decorating right now (see # of cake/cupcake shows on reality tv), but there’s not really a format on tv for showing people HOW to do it. I’d love to be the person who teaches people how to decorate and do other artistic things in their own homes/kitchens.

 

 

SidneyWhat’s your favorite medium to work with?

Christine- I enjoy using fondant and painting on cakes with food coloring. At the moment, I don’t use as much gum paste and modeling chocolate as I use to. (I think much of that is because I currently do less sugar flowers than I use to, and I can use the fondant to sculpt.) As you know, I love pulled/blow sugar, but my set up right now is not great for it… (I don’t have a heat lamp) 😦 but soon I’d like to get back to that in a much bigger way.

 

 

SidneyWhat are your goals for 2012?

Christine- I’d like to continue to spread the word about my business and see growth in my client base. I’d also like to do more wedding cakes.

 

 

Sidney What are your goals for the next 5 years?

Christine- Right now, I can see myself opening up a storefront for Tiney’s Bakeshop –but who knows where this road will take me. I’d LOVE to be doing more teaching/filming, but we’ll just have to see how that pans out.. 😉

 

If you asked me that question 5 years ago, I never would have dreamed “I want to be a cake decorator, be on reality television, film my own tv pilot, and own my own business!” haha

 

 

 

Sidney- How did working with Buddy the Cake Boss and Lauri Dutinno influence the direction of your cake decorating?

 

Christine- Working at Buddy’s focused my attention on decorating, specifically fondant. He also taught me how to make dozens of sugar flowers. Working at Lauri’s made me realize that I had the tools, training, and confidence to run my own kitchen.

 

 

SidneyWho have been the biggest influences in your work?

Christine- Buddy, his team, and all the girls I worked with at Carlo’s were the base of my knowledge and skills, but these days I’m mostly influenced by the talent of others in the world of cake decorating– I’m a big fan of photo sharing sites like Flickr and Pinterest. I am always browsing other people’s cakes, and am constantly in awe of everyone’s creativity. Online, I can see cakes from all over the world– as well as fashions, trends, etc.– which all influence me as a decorator.

 

I’m also getting married in a few months– which means that in my personal time I’m trolling wedding websites and brides magazines. This is so helpful for not just my wedding, but as influence for the wedding cakes I’ll be designing! 🙂

 

 

Sidney Would you be interested in teaching more of your classes? And if so would you be willing to come to our classroom in Florida??

Christine- I love teaching! Whether on camera or in person, I certainly hope to be able to teach more in the future. When I’m inFlorida next, I certainly plan to stop by and see your shop! 🙂 I’ve has a glimpse or two of it online, and would be delighted to come visit/teach something there if the opportunity presents itself. 🙂

 

 

 

 

To check out Christine’s beautiful work here’s a link to Tiney’s Bakeshop’s website,

http://www.tineysbakeshop.com/

Don’t forget to check out her awesome instructional video!

 

 

Keep life sweet,

Sidney

www.simicakes.com

Leave a Reply

