4/20/12

Hi Everyone!

Today I have an interview for you that I did with Rafael Logrono of “Rafael Logrono Cake Design”.   He is a young baker, like me, who owns  a bakery  in Philadelphia, PA.  We met through twitter and recently got to meet face to face in Virginia at the National Capitol Area Cake Show where we played with sugar bubbles.  Rafael specializes in wedding cakes, but he also teaches classes in Philadelphia and beyond.  He has a great smile, great sense of humor, and creates the most beautiful cakes.  He has been featured in Cake Central Magazine and  The East Coast Bride to name a few.  I cannot wait until we meet again at the Sweet Treats Cake Competition in New Jersey in September!  Enjoy!

 

Sidney: What kind of training have you had?

Rafael: With the exception of a few hours of instruction, I am self taught.  I was (much) younger when I began showing an interest in cake designing so traveling and learning was tough.

 

 Sidney: How old were you when you first started cakes?

Rafael: I am 18 now, but I began about 6-7 years ago.  I grew more passionate about 3 years ago and took it more seriously.

 

 Sidney: What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of being young baker?

Rafael: This is a question I get asked often!  Let’s start with the disadvantage first; when people find out my age, they think of this as a phase or a hobby for me, but once I tend to prove them wrong.  One of the advantages to this is that since I am young, I find that I am more cutting edge and can offer my clients something different than what they are accustom to.

 

Sidney: What are your personal favorite themes and colors for cakes?

Rafael: As of themes, I enjoy anything that allows to be creative.  Some of my personal favorite colors are carolina blue, olive green and raspberry red, mostly food related! I personally love wedding cakes!  Wedding cakes make me strive for perfection, making me a more disciplined person.  

 

Sidney: How did you invent your beautiful bows?

Rafael: Ha!  I bet I didn’t invent them, but they’re one of those things that you practice and make tons of, until you get them just right.

 

Sidney: What was your first amazing bow used on?

Rafael: You are flirting with my bows!  I don’t remember what cake it was used on, but I do remember it being ugly!

 

Sidney: I know you have a great support system like I do, what’s a typical day like working with your mom?  

Rafael: I have an awesome support system in my parents and would not be able to do what I do without them.  Working with my mom makes for an interesting dynamic.  The  business is under her name, so she can fire me at any time. Ha! 

 

 Sidney: You have a great sense of humor, how do you use that to your advantage in your business?

Rafael: I do?!?  I am always very kind and charming, so I guess it comes naturally to everyone.  I do use my good looks to get what I want though (there goes my sense of humor)!

 

Sidney: What means of marketing and advertising do you use?

Rafael: Marketing is so tough!  I wish I knew more about marketing and advertising before beginning the business.  You’ve probably heard this before, but social networking is amazing.  Having a website, blog, Facebook page, twitter account is very important in today’s society.  Just by a simple google search, clients and colleagues can get familiar with your work. This brings me to my second point, your work speaks for itself.  Working hard isn’t enough anymore, you have to go above and beyond since there are so many people in this industry.   

 

Sidney: What are your plans for the future?

Rafael: For the near future, I hope to teach cake designing more often, start my studies, get fit and a few other things I won’t let out the bag…  🙂

 

Sidney: You can’t always work!  What do you do in your spare time?

Rafael: Spare time?  What’s that?  In my spare time I like to work out, dance and cook.  Also, there are certain TV shows that I have to watch: Glee, Smash, Modern Family, Ellen and a few reality shows…  I am excited for the new season of Dancing with the Stars too… I am an avid fan of wrestling too, not many people know that! 

Check out Rafael’s beautiful cakes on his website at: http://www.rafaellogrono.com/

His Facebook is:  http://www.facebook.com/RafaelLogronoCakeDesign

Twitter:  @RafaelLogrono

Stay tuned for my next blog post with Video Journalist, Caroline Perez!

Keep Life Sweet!

Sidney

www.Simicakes.com

Leave a Reply

